Knowledgebase:
Logging Off versus Disconnecting from the Citrix Desktop
Posted by Daniel Malishkin, Last modified by Andrea Montgomery on 14 March 2017 04:01 PM

Logging Off versus Disconnecting from the Citrix Desktop

Log Off Daily - This means fully logging off of Citrix, not just disconnecting by hitting “X” in the top right of the screen or selecting “Disconnect” from the connection bar. Rebooting the computer does not properly log the user out of the Citrix desktop.

To Log Off of the Citrix desktop

Expand the black bar at the top of your Citrix desktop screen and select CTL+ALT+DEL then “Logoff” or

-OR-

Go to your Start Menu in the bottom left of your screen (looks like the Microsoft Windows Flag) and click on “Log off”

The Connection Bar: Inside Citrix vs. Outside Citrix

The black bar at the top of the screen indicates that you are inside the Citrix desktop

When you click on the black bar, it expands and gives you a few options.

  • Home = takes you out of the the Citrix desktop Screen and to your local computer
  • CTL+ALT+DEL = Change your the Citrix desktop Password
  • Window = This will take the Citrix desktop window to full screen or out of full screen viewing
  • Disconnect = This will disconnect your session inside the Citrix desktop. You can come back later or log in to another computer and pick up exactly where you left off in the the Citrix desktop session. This is like turning off your monitor and leaving everything running.



The Connection Bar is a feature of the Citrix desktop client on your local computer that lets you move back and forth between the Citrix desktop and your local desktop environment. You can also use this to pull up client specific, changing from a full screen to a windowed view of the Citrix desktop, or Disconnecting.

If you have a need to change to another computer, or don’t want to close out your programs. You can disconnect from your session. When you log back in, all the same windows, screens, files, and programs that you were working on previously will still be available. To disconnect, click on the black and white bar at the top of the screen to pull up the Connection Bar and then click on Disconnect. Disconnecting is like turning off your monitor at the end of the day.



**Updated 3/14/17



(1 vote(s))
Helpful
Not helpful

Comments (0)