Updating QuickBooks Company Files to new Versions of QuickBooks
Posted by Andrea Montgomery, Last modified by Andrea Montgomery on 07 February 2017 04:33 PM
Updating QuickBooks Company Files after a QuickBooks Upgrade
New QuickBooks Version Installed (Action Required)
If a new version of QuickBooks has been installed in your Citrix desktop, there may be few steps that you need to complete in order to finalize this process.
Update your QuickBooks company files
All your QuickBooks data is stored in one or more QuickBooks company files. Typically, our customers store these files on the Q drive, but there are exceptions. Only you know where your QuickBooks company files are stored.
You will need to update all your QuickBooks company files to work with your new version of QuickBooks. Once updated, these files cannot be accessed by your previous version of QuickBooks. To update your company files, do the following:
Don’t forget to do the above steps for all your company files. Hold onto any backup files you create through the above process until you are sure you won’t need them anymore.
Remove your Old version of QuickBooks
After you have finished updating your QuickBooks files, you will no longer be able to use your old QuickBooks application(s) to access these files. It is a good idea to remove old software you are not using. When you are ready, we recommend that you uninstall your old version of QuickBooks. You can do this yourself using your superuser account or you can schedule another maintenance with us to remove the old software.
Here are some reasons we recommend removing not only old versions of QuickBooks, but any old software you are no longer using: